Archives for: June 2009

June 30th, 2009

Don't take my NYQUIL!

Permalink 07:35:03 pm, by AnonymousOpinion Email, 245 words, 206 views   English (US)
Categories: In the News

ARAGH!

It was bad enough when I caught a cold the week that all products that could be used to make meth went behind the pharmacist's counter and I was wandering with a fever from store to store at 8:30pm for Nyquil on a Sunday only to find grocery stores open, but the pharmacies closed.

But come on!

The Food and Drug Administration has assembled more than 35 experts to discuss ways to prevent overdose with acetaminophen – the pain-relieving, fever-reducing ingredient in Tylenol and dozens of other prescription and over-the-counter medications.

Despite years of educational campaigns and other federal actions, acetaminophen is the leading cause of liver failure in the U.S., sending 56,000 people to the emergency room annually, according to the FDA.

The agency today asked its experts to consider a range of options: adding a "black box" warning label to the products, lowering the drug dosage in some products, or pulling certain types of medications off the market.

The drugs that could be pulled off shelves are combination medications, such as Procter & Gamble's NyQuil or Novartis' Theraflu, which combine acetaminophen with other ingredients that treat cough and runny nose.

The FDA says patients often pair them with a pure acetaminophen medication, like Tylenol, exposing themselves to unsafe levels of the drug.

I think I trip to Costco is in order, have to get Extra Strength Tylenol for my 93-year-old grandma before it gets diluted for her arthritis. And Nyquil for my next cold.

June 22nd, 2009

Like I needed an excuse to shop at Trader Joe's

Permalink 07:09:43 pm, by AnonymousOpinion Email, 186 words, 97 views   English (US)
Categories: In the News, Delaware

Supporting Israel and Trader Joe's at the same time, what could be better?

Some idiots in California are boycotting Trader Joe's because they are purveyors of foods from Israel.

I find it mildly amusing that the plan seemed to backfire.

Kate Raphael, one of the organizers of the event, said she joined approximately 20 others as they marched into a Trader Joe’s store in Oakland, passing out hundreds of leaflets, which condemned Israel’s actions, while taking Israeli products off the shelves. Similar demonstrations happened in San Francisco and Sacramento. In Los Angeles however, the only unusual activity reported was that of local patrons walking into the national food chain to ask to buy Israeli products in specific.


And I give props to the owner for her moxy:

But Alison Mochizuki, a spokesperson for Trader Joe’s more than 300 stores, reiterated the privately owned chain’s stance.

“Trader Joe’s will not be used as a political tool, and we will not remove any products under pressure from any group. We believe our customers are smart and capable enough to make their own choices,” she said.


June 21st, 2009

Mini Vacation

Permalink 07:15:25 pm, by AnonymousOpinion Email, 381 words, 127 views   English (US)
Categories: Reviews

Took a three day weekend to Rehoboth with my folks, sort of a mini vacation. Did a lot of shopping for a larger trip out west this summer.

My weekend reviews:

Good place to stay: The Heritage Inn, the rooms were named after the states, each had it's own curio cabinet with memorabilia from the state, a weekend there was actually cheaper than Holiday Inn Express. Go figure. The staff was nice, accommodations clean, and you can play a round of golf for $10. It also has free wireless, a nice pool, fitness center that I didn't use, and continental breakfast.

Great place to eat - 1776, pretty much across the street from the hotel. Had the black ravioli that was stuffed with lobster with shrimp and sherry cream sauce. Also of note was the salad with dried cherries, Gorgonzola, walnuts, a tad bit of bacon, and maple vinaigrette. Wow.

Do not take vegetarians there, the waiter presented the cuts of meats in the raw and described how they are prepared, their juiciness and for the New York Strip the dry aging process in great detail. I just imagined a friend from college just losing it since she's a vegan. It's on the must return list for next time.


Shopping Deals:

1) Under Armour outlet - Wicking t-shirts: Clearance rack was $9.99 each from sugg. retail of $20. Strangely, the ones in the front of the store were $14.99, the ones in the back on the clearance rack were $9.99. I bought two- they're great on a hot day if you're hiking or running.

2) Ann Taylor - Fuschia v neck sleeveless knit shirt $19, great deal, fabric has a nice hand to it, and doesn't fade.

3) Orvis outlet - Raincoat $49.99, lightweight ripstop nylon, packs well, and I really needed a raincoat with it coming down like cats and dogs like it did this weekend

And restoring whatever faith I had in humanity : During the torrential downpour, my mom forgot her purse on a bench outside the L.L. Bean outlet while she was fooling with the umbrella. Someone was nice enough to turn it in to the store, untouched and unopened for my mom to find later. She had it back in 15 minutes, and all was well with the world.

To whoever it was that did that, thanks for saving our collective weekend!

June 14th, 2009

Prayers for Iran

Permalink 08:47:05 am, by AnonymousOpinion Email, 684 words, 173 views   English (US)
Categories: In the News

H/T: The Corner

The twitters from Iran:

ChangeforIran (new posts):
"there is a rumor now in Farsi twitting community about mousavi being seen after 12h of no known location "
"according to rumor mousavi requested all people to gather near his office at 12:30 pm today."
"I guess we should all go, after all he is the real president "
warning [bowlofudon] - news agencies have reported this is potentially a trap @tehranbureau

IranRiggedElect:
"Mousavi just said his prayers @ the HQ and is moving toward ministry with 30000 supporters #iranElection"
"He asked ppl not to come out alone, especially girls, come in groups"

tehranelection:
"My Father has a truck load of ballot boxes that were to be burned in the back of his truck."
"My uncle tells me that throughtout most cities Mahmoud Ahmadinejad people had ballot boxes burned. They were told to do their jobs and speak nothing."
"The government has turned the power off in many locations claiming we need to fix some grid ??? Yeah, right!"

Gita:
"have heard of attacks to Esfehan University of Technology, they've arrested a lot of students "
"situation in tehran University is so worrisome. police have attacked to girls dormitory"
"intense fights between students and police in Tehran University dormitory & nearby streets"
"riots are not only in Tehran, but also in Yazd,Tabriz, Rasht,Mashhad"

iran09:
"Tehran Univeristy Dormitory and Amirabaad Avenue are under students control."

IranRiggedElect:
"It's said that faculty of Sharif University of Technology have resigned."

mahdi:
"Tehran Univeristy Dormitory and Amirabaad Avenue are under students control."
"Karafarin Bank at Amirabaad Avenue is burned in fire. "
"BBC Persian TV channel blocked in Iran on Hotbird satellite, watch it in Iran using: Telstar 12, 12.608, H, 19280, 3/4 "
"Some sources report that government is arresting the members of head board of the Islamic Iran Participation Front Party."
"Anti riot forces everywhere in Tehran. People are chanting in favor of Moussavi."

mohamadreza:
"Karubi (reformist candidate) told he will stand till the end."
"It is not officially approved by any of candidates but its spreading: Tuesday national strike in Iran."
"everybody is out, in the streets, there is no violence in Niavaran, but in Qeytarieh police is attacking people "

mousavi1388:
"Dear Iranian People, Mousavi has not left you alone, he has been put under house arrest by Ministry of Intelligence "

Mynumberone1988:
"Let's see what happens 2morrow,Think Ahmadinejad's gonna hold a so called celebration.)Freedom and democracy r ALL we want!)"
"I lost my Internet connection,seems like they've also shut down internet in Iran,tweeting by my cell phone now!"
"Iran's Intelligence Agency is videotaping the whole protests,cover your faces,they're gonna recognize u later!"
"SMS Service Still down in Iran,Iranians are used to spread a news by Texting in a sec all over Iran,That's why they've disconnected sms serv"

smileofcrash:
"twitter.com,friendfeed.com,cloob.com,youtube.com,facebook.com and..blocked in iran even mobiles...."
"mayday mayday!here is Iran,we have no hope....i swear i never vote again in this government i swear"
"waOoo WaoOO run ruuuuun!they hit everybody!here is tehran-vali ast st,vanak sq,fatemi st,... and eveywhere !everypolice hit everyone"

* permalink
* replycancel

bowlofudon 5 points6 points7 points 8 hours ago* [+] (0 children)

bowlofudon 5 points6 points7 points 8 hours ago* [-]

ChangeforIran ( http://twitter.com/Change_for_Iran ):
"Internet barely works, Speed is near 2kbps"
"6:47 am, police is speaking with students inside dormitory buildings of university of Tehran with speaker."
"black riot guards with black vans, it's my first time seeing this people, no badges! probably Intel ministry - they are joining with police motorcycles in front of student's dormitory buildings firefighters are leaving the area right now"
"there were more troops inside the vans and now starting to create a line in front of the only entrance of the building"
"'m currently on rooftop with my laptop, most of the city is now looking calm except university of Economy building. - I guess the Intel ministry guy is trying to convince university's security to open the gates"
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bUxmr3xQoX4

All my prayers for the people, opposition, and students set upon by this oppressive regime.

June 9th, 2009

Holy Truffle Fries, Batman!

Permalink 09:25:07 pm, by AnonymousOpinion Email, 220 words, 135 views   English (US)
Categories: Delaware

Yes, I visited the Italian festival today despite the booming thunder - which cleared out just fine. I bought my week pass online early for $12, I've been twice, and loaned it out yesterday.

My boss (two levels up) recommended Moro, he's crazy about it, and was doubly excited that they'd have a booth at the festival.

Michael DiBianca was actually there tonight and was, indeed, on a first name basis with my boss because he's in so often.

I had a delicious veal sandwich, and he served up a few truffle fries for me to taste, as I was concerned that they wouldn't travel back home with me so well should the thunder turn into torrential downpour.

One bite and I was hooked. The truffle oil makes them rich, the Parmesan makes them savory, and the little Italian herbs make them perfect.

SO worth it, I would brave the rain for them again. They give you a quart, I think of fries. Usually they're $8 at the restaurant, but $5 at the festival.

They should call truffle fries - crack fries. I kid you not.

For my next birthday, this is where I want to have dinner, and I'm going to call ahead and ask for the Chef's tasting menu, followed by the Dessert Pig.

This is an awful week to start a diet.

June 5th, 2009

Bonnie Erbe

Permalink 07:39:32 pm, by AnonymousOpinion Email, 269 words, 117 views   English (US)
Categories: In the News

Miss Erbe is getting a lot of heat for insinuating that whatever anyone says about Michelle Malkin is okay, that her opinions invite Playboy to advocate/fantasize that she be raped. It's just "venom" after all.

Off that topic, thought maybe Miss Erbe could use a little criticism.

Just going to do some creative editing here of Bonnie Erbe:

...no progress has been made toward ending the abortion wars, but the two sides have been driven farther apart.

"Let us work together to reduce the number of women seeking abortions. Let's reduce unintended pregnancies. Let's make adoption more available. Let's provide care and support for women who do carry their child to term," Obama told the crowd of 12,000 at a huge athletic facility.

These are good ideas, but they are not new ideas. The Left has made great concessions: abandoning any semblance of seeking abortion on demand, acceding to all sorts of limits on abortion rights in the 37 years since Roe v. Wade became law. Now it's the Right's turn: Stop referring to abortion as "baby-killing" and use of Plan B and other contraceptives as "murder." Maybe then we could see some real progress on this issue. -

Source

Many of the poor souls (yes, souls) he unnecessarily brought into this world will end up going for slaughter. -

Source


The first is about human beings, the second is about horses!

Foals=Poor souls!

Unborn infants = stop inferring that parasitic globs of flesh living off of women are human - please use the term fetus.

Interesting how she is more concerned over the well-being of a newborn horse than an unborn human.

June 1st, 2009

From the department of selective outrage

Permalink 11:43:49 pm, by AnonymousOpinion Email, 62 words, 160 views   English (US)
Categories: In the News, Unhinged, Ridiculous!, Delaware

Murder in Church - abortion doctor killed by anti-abortion extremist.

Murder in an Army Recruitment center - recruiter killed by militant Muslim extremist.

Delaware Liberal is vocal on one, silent on the other.

Delaware Libertarian and Hube lay the smackdown of the "All Republicans are terrorists mantra."

Both fall under - crazy people should be in jail, why weren't they caught earlier? Weren't there signs?

Anonymous Opinion's Politics

“Opinions should be formed with great caution – and changed with greater” – Josh Billings

Recent Writings

June 2009
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
<< < Current > >>
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30        

Search

Categories

Archives

Twitter

Delaware Conservative Bloggers

Delaware Conservative Bloggers Alliance

Daily Reads

Blogs

Milblogs

News

Opinion

Folks I know

Christian Blogs

Tribute

2996

Misc

Syndicate this Blog

Gray's Creek Designs

Support our troops with a touch of beauty and faith. Cards and bookmarks are available at cost for anyone corresponding with soldiers deployed away from home. Visit Grays Creek Designs for details.

Powered by b2evolution