Archives for: September 2009

September 29th, 2009

Hollywood for Excusing Child Rape

Permalink 07:11:03 pm, by AnonymousOpinion Email, 930 words, 729 views   English (US)
Categories: MSM, In the News, Unhinged, Ridiculous!, Moral Relativism

That's what I said, FOR, not AGAINST.

I don't care how long ago it was. I don't care if the perpetrator is an Oscar Winner, a Nobel Prize Winner, a Medal of Honor recipient, a Medal of Freedom recipient, a Supreme Court Justice, a Senator, a Congressman, a CEO, a janitor.

You rape a 13-year-old-child, you go to jail.

Wait, I'm not being technically correct here - unlawful sexual intercourse with a minor - per the Guardian's technical footnote.

What did Roman Polanski do?

He has admitted he had sex with 13-year-old Samantha Geimer in 1977 after plying her with champagne and Quaaludes at the home of actor Jack Nicholson.

Graphic detail from the transcripts:

A. Then he lifted up my legs and went in through my anus.

Q. What do you mean by that?

A. He put his penis in my butt.

. . . .

Q. Do you know whether he had a climax?

A. Yes.

Q. And how do you know that?

A. Because I could kind of feel it and it was in my underwear. It was in my underwear. It was on my butt and stuff.

Q. When you say that, you believe that he climaxed in your anus?

A. Yes.

Q. What does climax mean?

A. That his semen came out.

Q. Do you know what semen is?

A. Yes.

Q. Did you see some semen or feel some semen?

A. I felt it.

Q. Where did you feel it?

A. I felt it on the back of my behind and in my underwear when I put them on.

Where was this guy arrested?

Mr. Polanski was taken into custody Saturday evening upon his arrival in Zurich for a film festival, where he was to have received a lifetime-achievement award. Swiss police arrested him at the request of U.S. authorities on a 1978 warrant issued after he became a fugitive.

And a French Foreign minister has the gall to say in USA Today:

French Foreign Minister Bernard Kouchner called the apprehension a "bit sinister. A man of such talent, recognized in the entire world … all this just isn't nice."

French Culture Minister Frederic Mitterrand told French news media, "In the same way that there is a generous America that we like, there is also a scary America that has just shown its face."

Actors have weighed in:

The festival has been “unfairly exploited” to secure Polanski’s arrest over a case that is “all but dead,” said U.S. actress Debra Winger, president of the film event’s jury.

“Despite the philistine nature of the collusion that has now occurred, we came to honor Roman Polanski as a great artist,” Winger said in a statement read to reporters.

“We hope today this latest order will be dropped,” Winger said. “It is based on a three-decade-old case that is all but dead except for a minor technicality.”

And important people have weighed in on it:

philosopher Bernard-Henri Lévy, who suggested that perhaps the Swiss had more serious criminal matters to attend to than Mr. Polanski, who, he said, “perhaps had committed a youthful error.”

The bureaucrats are hustling on his behalf:

Polish Foreign Minister Radoslaw Sikorski and his French counterpart, Bernard Kouchner, sent a joint letter to Secretary of State Hillary Clinton urging U.S. authorities to allow Polanski’s release, she said.

Oh and Harvey Weinstein is all indignant and stuff:

“Film mogul Harvey Weinstein has got behind a campaign by French film-makers calling on US authorities not to extradite the Oscar-winning Polish director in connection with a charge of unlawful sexual intercourse with a minor dating back more than three decades.

“Weinstein entered the fray at the personal behest of Cannes film festival director Thierry Fremaux and will now use his considerable influence and campaigning heft to enlist the support of Hollywood.

“”We’re calling on every film-maker we can to help fix this terrible situation,” Weinstein said, reviving a theme he adopted earlier in the year after he bought international distribution rights at Sundance to the HBO documentary Roman Polanski: Wanted and Desired.

“The film uncovered flaws in the legal case against the director, prompting Weinstein to allude to a possible campaign to get the charges against Polanski dropped. At a hearing this year a Los Angeles superior court judge agreed there was “substantial misconduct” in the original hearing.

Yes, the now-adult victim wants to drop the charges. It's not her choice, the crime against her was one that the state brought against him.

Dang, I guess 42 days in jail is enough for the drugging, sodomy and rape of a minor - if you're an Oscar winning Director.

What parent in any country would find 42 days an acceptable punishment for the rape of their daughter? What fair and honorable justice system would find this excusable?

Or, are there just two sets of laws, one for those of means, those that are famous, and another for the rest of us?

I guess social justice is only a cause worth fighting for when you're payrolling films like Michael Moore's "Capitalism, a love story."

Kate Harding is one of the few who doesn't sugar coat this.

Patterco is on it

Bloomberg Link that my php software hates:

Oh, and feel free to pay attention to this while the story about ACORN workers telling a pair posing as a pimp and whore how they can buy a house, report her occupation as performance art, and list the purported imported child prostitutes as dependants gets shoved under a rock.

September 21st, 2009

September 19th, 2009

Old infomercial find

Permalink 10:01:03 pm, by AnonymousOpinion Email, 145 words, 216 views   English (US)
Categories: Random Entertainment

I started a new diet this weekend, which looks surprisingly like what my hypogylcemic friend works off of on a daily basis. It's very high on veggies, small amounts of whole wheat carbs, light on fruits, low fat, tiny quantities of sugar.

I really don't have time to cook most of the week if I get in late, so I decided to cook the more complex recipes and the ones that needed my grill this weekend to eat during the week.

It was a beautiful day to grill on my deck.

The coleslaw required diced jicama, apple, thinly sliced onion and lots of shredded cabbage, and I didn't want to be chopping all day.

During one of Mom's clean out house moments - I inherited a V-slicer, probably the first infomercial that anyone in my family fell for.

How old is it?

Made in West Germany.

September 11th, 2009

Eight years: Captain William Harry Thompson September 11, 2001

Permalink 09:02:40 am, by AnonymousOpinion Email, 1505 words, 328 views   English (US)
Categories: Delaware

Captain William Harry Thompson

As part of the 2,996 project, I am honoring Captain William Harry Thompson.

Much of this is a re-post from prior years, each year it's more difficult to learn more about the man that he was. I'd like to share a moving tribute I found yesterday, a transcript from a ceremony in the honor of the Court Officers in 2003. Here Senior Court Officer Jeffrey Davis has a few words to say about his friend.

I’m deeply honored to speak a few words about our friend, colleague and always our Captain, William Harry Thompson, conventionally known as Harry.

When you talk about the measure of a man, you consider his heart, his deeds, his vision of the world and his character. Harry wore these attributes in good standing on his shoulders as he moved through life. He was totally dedicated to his family, mom, Mike and Tracey, her son, his endless photo array of the grand kids and his eternal soul mate Sandra.

When he spoke of them his eyes twinkled with the gleam of proudness and contentment. Harry’s next set of family was the members of the Unified Court System, particularly the uniformed force.

He wore his honor, he exemplified his position, he exuded confidence. Harry lived by example, always well groomed and impeccably dressed. It was the unfortunate officer that appeared before him unkept... If his shoes weren’t shined and his uniform up to the part, he would hear about it. It was a common sight to see him spit shining his own shoes.

While Captain Thompson was friendly, easy going and fair, he was also a stern supervisor when called upon. When you were wrong you were wrong, correct the situation and let’s move on. When I considered going back to school to complete my undergraduate degree, Harry vigorously encouraged me. He constantly wanted to know my progress and counseled me through trying times. Your belief in Harry would make you believe in yourself.

His compassion was contagious. When he asked you how you were doing or how certain member of your family was, he meant it, he truly meant it. The collage of pictures in his office drawn by officers’
children was a testament to his likebility. Harry Thompson always understood that it was always possible doing something a different way to get the desired effect. He searched not only for fairness, but for understanding. Harry was a tremendous listener.

I miss Harry, we all miss Harry. And his entering the unspeakable madness of two years ago was yet another one of his selfless acts of kindness, one that would be memorialized forever.

So when we talk about the measure of a man, we talk about a man who raised the bar, we talk about Captain Harry Thompson.

I feel privileged to be part of this project, and even more fortunate to be honoring a man of such character and courage - the kind of courage I can only hope to be capable of should the need ever arise. Captain Thompson was one of the 72 law enforcement officers that didn't come home that day.

Here is an excerpt from the National Law Enforcement Officer's Memorial Fund website:

Like so many others who perished on September 11, 2001, the stories of Captain Thompson and Senior Court Officers Jurgens and Wallace are ones of tragic fate. None of them worked at the twin towers that collapsed, nor did their jobs require them to respond to the attacks. But, like so many other law enforcement professionals in the area, when the terrorists crashed the planes into the buildings they responded. Like Scottie Williamson, a friend and trustee with the New York City PBA once told me about the co-workers he lost on 9-11: "Those officers were right where they wanted to be, doing exactly what they wanted to be doing when they died." ...

Harry Thompson, a popular and highly respected 27-year veteran court officer, was at the training academy on Williams Street, just a short distance away from the World Trade Center when the attacks occurred. Captain Thompson, along with several other instructors and officers who were at the academy that day, ran to the scene. He stayed in the South Tower until the very end, moving people to safety and aiding the injured. Chief Administrative Judge Jonathan Lippman spoke at a church service about Captain Thompson's loss, saying he "ran without a second thought to be of assistance. He did not have to go. He did not have to be there . . . None of the court officers who ran to the World Trade Center that morning had to be there . . . We lost three brave officers that morning."

Some 25 court officers were part of the rescue effort on 9-11. All were injured. One of them was Senior Court Officer Tyree Bacon III. He was with his three fallen colleagues just moments before they died. Together, this group of relentless rescuers had already successfully evacuated many burn victims when they decided to go back in for more. According to Officer Bacon, they proceeded against the flow of escaping victims and went to the mall under the South Tower with two chair stretchers and a cart. When they encountered 10 seriously injured people, it was decided that Officer Bacon should evacuate a woman with severe burns. He got her into a chair stretcher and left the other officers behind to tend to the injured. Fifteen seconds later, there was an explosion and the South Tower collapsed.

I'm glad I'm not the first to honor him.

  • His name is inscribed on panel 21W, line 23 of the National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial
  • Captain Thompson's online memorial from the National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial is here.
  • His name was also inscribed on an ordnance that was dropped over eastern Afghanistan in March of 2002.
  • Ed Kotas remembers the day they found the bodies of his two friends and fellow officers.
  • Until his remains of all three court officers were found, Ralph Bova, a senior court officer, sung his own tribute to his fallen brothers at 8:48am each work morning.
  • Other court personnel released a CD, with all proceeds going to charity.
  • A video tribute is here from NY1 News.
  • His sons, Rashaan and Michael, received a tribute from ArtAIDE in memory of their father.

This is a reprint of his obiturary as written in the New York Times

William Harry Thompson

The Stair Climber

Capt. William Harry Thompson never took the elevator. He taught at the court officers' academy on the 12th floor at 123 Williams Street. Every morning, Captain Thompson, 51, would walk up the stairs to the academy.

If he went out to lunch, he could climb the stairs to go back to work. When he would take the recruits, most of them less than half his age, out for runs three times a week, they would climb the stairs after the runs were over. He would be the only one not out of breath.

"His physical regimen would make you cry," said Deputy chief Jewel Williams, of the New York State courts, who was his commander at the academy.

On the job, Captain Thompson was spit and polish. At 6-foot-2, with a booming voice, he could easily get people's attention. "I know it sounds corny -- he gave the appearance of being hard as nails--but he was so easygoing," Chief Williams said. "He was the type that carried family pictures around with him in his wallet and whey they opened up, there were 25 different shots."

Captain Thompson was one of three court officers who died on Sept. 11 when they ran to the World Trade Center. His oldest son, Michael, often finds himself thinking about how his father did things.

"I have been faced with a lot of decisions to make, decisions that I don't want to make. I pause before I decide and I think about the approach he would take."

With the 2,996 project, none of us chose who we would honor, yet I feel privileged to honor one of the heroes of the day. He was one of the men who ran in when everyone else was running out. I imagine that there are at least a few people out there who have owed every breath they took since that morning to him.

Although I never met him, it's not hard to say that I would have liked to. I envy those that did.

Please feel free to comment, especially if you were lucky enough to have known him.

From Tara:

I would not have missed the tribute. Harry was the kindest man I have ever met and he was my supervisor!! Always quick with a smile and his smile lit up the whole room. He was big on appearance in uniform so if he told you that you looked sharp, he really meant it and it was such a big deal because if he noticed you looked good than you really must! The man was a gem and he is missed every single day and he is not forgotten by any means.

September 5th, 2009

Without Conscience

Permalink 09:57:43 am, by AnonymousOpinion Email, 79 words, 165 views   English (US)
Categories: MSM, In the News, Unhinged, Ridiculous!, Soldiers and Sailors, ...And Politics, Honor and Remembrance

So, who's up for making sure that the AP gets no business ever again?

To the family of Lance Cpl. Joshua Bernard, they AP owes you, and every member of the armed service an apology.

He served honorably and gave his life for his country, and that is how he should be remembered, rather than as a photo op to sell papers.

And all those outlets that had the nerve to reprint including Huffpo - should be ashamed, too.


Anonymous Opinion's Politics

“Opinions should be formed with great caution – and changed with greater” – Josh Billings

Recent Writings

September 2009
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
<< < Current > >>
    1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30      





Delaware Conservative Bloggers

Delaware Conservative Bloggers Alliance

Daily Reads





Folks I know

Christian Blogs




Syndicate this Blog

Gray's Creek Designs

Support our troops with a touch of beauty and faith. Cards and bookmarks are available at cost for anyone corresponding with soldiers deployed away from home. Visit Grays Creek Designs for details.

Powered by b2evolution